Meet the jury for CHART Architecture 2019


8 April 2019

Portrait of architect David Zahle
Portraits of the jury members of CHART Architecture 2019

The jury for CHART Architecture 2019

On Thursday 11 April we release the brief for CHART Architecture, our annual 72-hour architecture competition. Under the theme materiality, we invite young architects, designers and artists to design pavilions to house CHART’s food and drink partners during CHART 2019.

After the deadline on 14 April 12:00 an international jury will select five finalists who will get the chance to realise their projects and have the pavilions displayed in the Kunsthal’s Charlottenborg’s courtyards during CHART.


David Zahle is an architect and partners of Danish architecture firm BIG and the architect behind noteworthy cultural projects in Scandinavia including the Kistefos Museum, Norway, the M/S Maritime Museum, Denmark, and the recently opened Panda house at the Copenhagen Zoo. David Zahle is head of CHART Architecture jury 2019.

Rosa Bertoli is the Design Editor of Wallpaper* magazine and has written about design for prominent publications such as the Guardian, Soma Magazine and Intersection. Besides her editorial work, Rosa Bertoli has overseen Wallpaper* Handmade, an annual exhibition at Salone del Mobile of specially commissioned, one-of-a-kind design pieces. Rosa Bertoli has sat on the judging panel for the Dutch Design Awards and the Design Guilds Mark, a prestigious award for excellence in British design.

Pippo Ciorra is Senior Curator at MAXXI, the National Museum of 21st Century Arts, in Rome. Pippo Ciorra is an architect, critic, professor of design and theory at the School of Architecture, University of Camerino, XXX, and coordinator of the “Villard d’Honnecourt” international PhD programme in architecture. Pippo Ciorra has curated a number of notable exhibitions including the PS1 international programme for young architects for MoMA PS1 and MoMA.

Lea Porsager is a Danish artist working with a variety of mediums including film, sculpture, photography and text. In 2016 Lea Porsager won the proposal for Swedish memorial for the victims of the tsunami in southeast Asia in 2004 with her piece Gravitational Ripples (2016). Lea Porsager graduated from the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in 2010 and began her PhD at Malmö Art Academy and Lund University in 2015. Lea Porsager’s practice addresses theme like science, politics, feminism and esotericism and deals with the relationships between fabulation and speculation.

Nikoline Dyrup Carlsen is the co-founding architect of Copenhagen-based Spacon & X and senior lecturer at the The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of Architecture. Spacon & X is a Copenhagen based award-winning design and architecture studio. Working on a wide range of projects, from products to interior organization to larger building projects Spacon & X aims to develop better ways of living and working in urban contexts with lack of space being a key issue.